Learn C++ through Real-World Applications

In my opinion you should understand and learn. Byhearting tons of equation doesn’t make a good professional. Especially in engineering subjects there are a large number of equations. Even conrolling a robot’s path uses a large number of equations.Byhearting these wont be of any use. Try to understand and then learn.

I am sure that if students are given knowledge about the practicle side, they will have more interst to learn and also the will perform well.

One of our best example is of teaching computer languages ( c++ ) in our higher secondary schools. A “HELLO WORLD” program wont make a student happy. Just seeing the “HELLO WORLD” on the screen will just make him bored. Imagine of blinking an LED program .This can be easily done through parallel port interface.Seeing those the student will be more happy and he will try to learn more about that. Even for loops, if else condition, functions, pointers can be taugth using this same technique.For example using for loops, a LED can be made to blink.

These educational methods are used in our country. Its high time to change those old teaching methods. We have to adopt the new method of learn while playing . Western countries have adopted this and has gained a great success. Even MIT has implemented this. See this link .

I was inspired to write this small scrap while I read the book Interfacing with C++ Programming Real-World Applications by Jayantha Katupitiya and Kim Bentley.

I have completed reading a part of the book. I found it so intresting that I havent learned C++ this well even in my higher secondary class. I think it should be used by teacher for teaching C++. Even The Object-Oriented Approach has been well described through real life problems.

If I were a teacher I will use this book.

See a similar post here How To Teach Computer Science – The MIT Way!

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Review, Electronics, FOSS, GNU/Linux, Robots

Leave a comment